I am cold

Yeah, yeah… I live in Illinois and it is technically winter, but I think this cold is a bit much. Right now, with the sun shining, it is 6 degrees and the “real feel” is -4.  I must say I really feel like being at home in my sweat pants, but then it is colder there than in the office.

Ye ole farmhouse

Ye ole farmhouse

I live in an old farmhouse in the middle of a field with horrible insulation, so when the wind blows in from the north the bathroom is frigid to say the least.  I rolled out of bed this morning and made my way to the bathroom, where I literally had ice bergs in my toilet. We have a little space heater that we put in there, but it was stolen last night.  (The kid was apparently cold despite his electric mattress pad and electric blanket.) I quickly turned on the shower (please lord, don’t be frozen) and thankfully the water came on.

A couple weeks ago when we had our first super cold snap, the pipes froze, and let me tell you that was a mess you never want to deal with.  We had to go into the dungeon basement and manage a mess of ice and water.  It was definitely not a fun way to spend a Sunday. We took some extra time insulating the pipes, which at the time I didn’t think would work. But today (after I finished my hot shower) I was very thankful that I was wrong.

I type all this, not only to make you thankful you don’t live in an old house, but also to remind you to prepare for cold and the potential snow tomorrow. I won’t bore you with endless tips, but below are a few things to do today…

  • Avoid frozen pipes by leaving a trickle on in the sink before you go to bed and make sure your pipes are
    I got this hat yesterday.  I am totally wearing it today!

    I got this hat yesterday. I am totally wearing it today!

    insulated. More in-depth info, especially for you old farmhouse live-ers, is here.

  • Don’t get caught at home without the essentials. It is supposed to snow tomorrow, so make sure you are stocked up with food, water, shovels and salt. I don’t think that there is reason to go overboard in this situation, but if the power goes out or you are stuck at home for a few days, you will be glad you have a full cupboard.
  • Restock the kit.  I know that Red Cross people harp about disaster kits in your home and in your car, but we know how important it is.  If you have it then you are prepared for anything.
  • Dress for the weather when it is this cold. Cute shoes and stylish clothes should stay at home for the next couple days and be replaced by warm layers.  Also, be sure to wear a coat, gloves and hat.

Stay warm and safe all!

Leave a comment