All in the Red Cross family

In my normal Red Cross world, I am one girl with a big job. I work with 12 offices that serve over 2 million people in central Illinois and Northeast Missouri. And even though I work with incredible staff and volunteers every day, there are times I feel very alone as only one set of shoulders carries my workload. But all that changed this week.

On Sunday, I was sent to my basement in Morton, IL by my Red Cross tornado app, and when I emerged, I knew almost immediately that it was bad. After a quick call with disaster staff, I hopped in the shower. When I finished blowing my hair dry, I saw I was already getting slammed with emails and texts. But they weren’t from disaster staff, they were from Red Crossers across the country. Here are just a few of the messages…

“U ok?”… Chicago
“I heard you had a tornado, are you alright?”… Indiana
“Let me know if you need help.”… Northern Illinois
“I was so worried about you!”… Missouri

After I got to work via tornado ravaged roads, I called national headquarters in DC to let them know what was happening… “Hey Erin, I see you had some major weather. Are you okay and how can we help?” Suddenly, in that moment, I realized I was never really alone.

In the days to come, Red Cross communicators who also have big jobs and other volunteers left their homes and lives to be here. People across the country cared about my local Red Cross, about helping our hometowns. Funny how it takes a disaster for many of us, myself included, to see that we are all part of a Red Cross family.

I suppose I am just feeling reflective tonight because I am exhausted, and this post really doesn’t have a master purpose. I just wanted to ask for your help. There are well over 100 local volunteers and people from across the country in central Illinois right now. Many are missing their loved ones birthdays and even Thanksgiving with their family to be here. And the kicker is, they don’t have to be, they wanted to be. So if you see a group of tired Red Crossers grabbing a late dinner, or notice a red vest handing out meals, please help me to let them know how much we appreciate them being here for us. They are a selfless group of people that make up a family I am proud to be part of.

Leave a comment